FIP Radio – I love it

You may or may not have heard of a little Paris-based radio station called FIP [France Inter Paris]. It’s an absolute joy and I recommend you tune in if you’ve never heard it before. We’ve been listening to it for a while now and it used to be broadcast (illegally) from Brighton 2001 and 2011, before being shut down by the feds, but with the wonders of technology you can now just listen to it through the website.

FIP

[HERE]

Click on the play button at the top and a pop-up comes out, playing the wonderful FIP

A perfect example of why I love FIP so much is that they just played Farrell’s ‘Happy’ followed by a French version of ‘Happy Together’ by The Turtles. After a little French chat, we are now enjoying ‘Barranquillerita’ by La Tormenta. Another reason I love FIP is because I don’t like chat between songs on the radio, and because the chat is in French I can’t understand what’s going on – they could be advertising double glazing and it still sounds beautiful and exotic, which makes it a pleasure to listen to. They also throw in the occasional song from a musical, often Chicago or similar. FIP plays anything from jazz to reggae to pop and for some reason they manage to do it so seamlessly.

[WIKI page]

There we have it. FIP. Listen to it and let me know what you think. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. Now, I’m off to make a dark roast and a croissant; for some reason I’m in the mood for dunking pastry into coffee and wandering around an art gallery. I’ll have to replace the art gallery with Pinterest, but it’s the thought that counts.

One thought on “FIP Radio – I love it

Leave a Reply

