IKEA – 10-gruppen – AVSIKTLIG collection

 

04_10_Gruppen

IKEA has released a collection called AVSIKTLIG and I really like the designs, so I thought I’d share with you some of my favourite pieces and some information behind the designs and designers.

You can read more HERE, but in short, in Sweden in the 1970s, a group of designers called 10-gruppen (which translates as 10 Swedish designers) got together and decided to create their own designs and textiles, going against all the design “rules” at the time. These designs were considered “unsellable” but following a showing of their work in New York in 1973, they created quite a following. They first worked with IKEA in 1979.

The AVSIKTLIG collection comes as a result of a collaboration with three current IKEA designers and the original 10-gruppen to create a new collection using the 45 year-old designs.

avsiktlig-rug-flatwoven-assorted-colors__0485080_PE621413_S4First up there is this blue/black rug ($99) — I really like the bold stripes and the alternate directions. I think this would be a great alternative for a kid’s room or nursery. Ditch those pastels and go bold! Design by: Tom Hedqvist. 

 

avsiktlig-fabric-white__0513829_PE639160_S4

I adore this fabric and it’s vintage vibe. IKEA show it on a wall in their styled shoots for this range and I think it’s wonderful. It is $4.99 / yard and I’m excited to see what people do with it. I think it would have made a great duvet set. Design by: Britt-Marie Christoffersson. 

avsiktlig-paper-napkin__0483146_PE620666_S4IKEA paper napkins are one of my favourite IKEA staples. In my opinion, these are the least useful size, but the designs show three of my favourite prints from this collection, so they’ve made the list. $1.99 / pack of 30.

avsiktlig-duvet-cover-and-pillowcase-s-green__0488253_PE623015_S4

They’ve done it again… why is it that all the best duvet covers only come in single/twin size?! This fantastic design would have looked awesome as a double/queen/king ($29.99). Design by: Kristina Abelli-Elander.

 

avsiktlig-bath-sheet-assorted-colors__0482719_PE620352_S4These towels would look great at the beach this summer. I’ll take the blue and black striped ones, please (there are other designs available if you follow the link). $14.99.  Design by: Tom Hedqvist. 

 

avsiktlig-cushion-assorted-colors__0487857_PE622776_S4I do like a sausage cushion (that’s what we call them at home) and this dotty cushion is no exception. $3.99! Design by: Iina Vuorivirta. 

 

avsiktlig-art-card__0483171_PE620697_S4All of these brilliant designs are available in a card pack. I’ll definitely be getting myself one of these (and another to send to people, of course) if they have any on my next visit. $4.99/pack.

avsiktlig-book__0483134_PE620675_S4If you love these designs as much as I do, you can read all about 10-gruppen in the book that accompanies the collection. Again, if they have this when I visit I’ll be getting myself a copy. It’s only $7.99 for IKEA family members.

There are loads of other pieces in the collection, so go by and take a look or check out the link here >> IKEA AVSIKTLIG collection.

Happy Friday!

L. x

Further reading:

So I say… thank you for the fabrics | The Independent

I would Kill for Fashion: Britt-Marie Christoffersson

Weekly Abroad: Iina Vuorivirta | Helsinki Design Weekly

Leave a Reply

